2020 Struddys NQ Sportstar Awards

Do you know an outstanding volunteer?

The North Queensland Sports Foundation is calling for nominations for your regions greatest Sport and Active Recreation Volunteer. The Awards celebrate the efforts of our regional volunteers particularly under these trying circumstances to support a return to sport and active recreation.

The pandemic has impacted the majority of sports cancelling state, national and international competition. As a result the NQ Sportstar Awards is unable to be delivered in its full format in 2020.

The traditional Service to Sport Award category however is evaluated over a longer period allowing the appropriate assessment to take place to select our best nominees. The 2020 NQ Sportstar Service to Sport Award will be slightly different this year. Ordinarily the NQ Sportstar Awards includes only one Service to Sport category. This year we are offering three Senior Service to NQ Sport Awards and one Junior Volunteer of the year Award. The Senior Service to NQ Sport Awards will be segmented into sub categories being large, medium & small council member regions. The Junior Volunteer of the year will be selected across all council members.

Thank you to all who nominated!

Sponsored By



Award Categories

Junior* Volunteer of the Year to be selected from all NQ Council members

PRIZE – Winner receives $100 Cash

*Junior 12yrs to 20yrs as at 31 December 2020

Senior* Service to NQ Sport to be selected from Large council members –
Cairns Regional Council / Mackay Regional Council / Townsville City Council

Senior* Service to NQ Sport to be selected from Medium council members –
Burdekin Shire Council / Charters Towers Regional Council / Douglas Shire Council / Hinchinbrook Shire Council / Isaac Regional Council / Mount Isa City Council / Whitsunday Regional Council

Senior* Service to NQ Sport to be selected from Small council members –
Boulia Shire Council / Burke Shire Council / Carpentaria Shire Council / Cloncurry Shire Council / Cook Shire Council / Croydon Shire Council / Ethridge Shire Council / Flinders Shire Council / McKinlay Shire Council / Mornington Shire Council / Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council / Richmond Shire Council / Torres Strait Island Regional Council / Winton Shire Council

PRIZES per Region – Winners receive $100 Cash

Proudly sponsored by Think Mobility

*Senior 21yrs and over as at 31 December 2020